Minnesota new law for slower traffic driving on the left side

1094

SUAB HMONG NEWS (06/05/2019) — The New Minnesota law to fine slower drivers in the left lane will come to effect on August 1, 2019.

A measure aimed at drivers who linger in the left lane was signed into law last month, according to Sen. John Jasinski, R-Faribault, who sponsored the bill at the Capitol.

Who violated this law could face a fine of $50.00 plus a $75 surcharge.

The law doesn’t quantify how slow a vehicle must be traveling in the left lane in order to be cited. It just states, “a person must move out of the left-most lane to allow another vehicle to pass” when practical.

There are some exceptions to the new law. If someone is driving on a road with more than one lane in the same direction, the law doesn’t apply when a driver is preparing to turn left at an intersection or looking to exit from the left lane on a controlled-access highway.